How to overcome fear, worry and anxiety God’s way

Life has its crushing moments.  Have you looked upon them as challenges to overcome or did you yield to truly negative emotions like fear, anxiety and worry?Have you ever felt paralyzed by fear, worry or anxiety?  What did you do?  How did you move forward?

 

Did you know that these negative emotions can be used as a starting point by the kingdom of darkness?  Did you know they thrive on making you miserable?  Did you know you can stop them from being successful?

 

There’s a reason scripture tells us not to be afraid.  God knows we can indeed be afraid, but we don’t have to be.  Peter became afraid when he took his eyes off Jesus after he got out of the boat and began to do what is physically impossible for any of us to do: walk on water.  He began sinking and cried out for Jesus to help or save him.  Jesus did, and they walked on the water together back to the boat.

 

Matthew 14:28-31a

28 And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”

29 So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus. 30 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”

31 And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him.

 

 

Note the text says that Jesus immediately stretched out His hand and saved him.  Brothers and sisters, we are so blessed the Jesus who said He would never leave or forsake us is the Jesus who is instant to save or to help.  And that’s the point, when these emotions overwhelm us, all we need to do is cry out to Jesus for Help, and He will do so instantly like He did for Peter.  He won’t let you drown in your negative emotions.  All you need to do is your part and ask Him to save you from them.  He will.

 

 

Spiritual family, I battle anxiety just like some of you do.  When it is more than I can bear, I do cry out to Jesus for help.  I also ask Him to remove those spirits of fear, anxiety or worry from my mind and my house and forbid them to return.  He does that, too.  This is God’s way of overcoming fear, worry and anxiety.  It works.

 

 

Years ago, I took medication designed to reduce the terrible anxiety I faced daily.  The anxiety distorted my brain chemistry, and the medication biochemically restored “normal” function.  Today, I don’t take meds even though meds can be part of God’s healing stream.  Instead, I am blessed with Jesus, who restores my soul when I need restoring.  What He does for me, He can and will do for you.

 

 

Let’s pray:  Father God, thanks for helping me understand that just because I am anxious, it doesn’t mean I need to remain that way.  Thanks for blessing me with the spiritual coping tools I need so I can move forward to enjoy the life You have given me to live and so that I can move forward to be and do all that You have for me to be and do.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

 

copyright 2016, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Christian Coping and Living, Christian Meditation, Christian Obedience, christian spiritual tools, Christian Testimony, emotional pain, overcoming, suffering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

