Feathers in the freezer, a true story

It’s time to lighten up a bit, spiritual family. God brought a situation to mind that Pastor G and I still laugh about, and I pray you will find the humor in it, too.

While we were courting, my very interested fiance-to-be invited me and some other singles to his home that he shared with another brother in Christ for breakfast. I found out the man can cook. For some reason I can’t recall, I went to the freezer for something. Upon opening the door, I found myself staring at a feather duster, and I recall thinking that if the relationship were to work, there would be no feather duster in MY freezer!

Anyway, I turned my perplexed self to him and asked what that thing was doing in the freezer. His response was that it killed the mites from the plants he tended to professionally as an interior landscaper. Since our relationship was fairly new, I tried to be extremely polite and asked him if he intended to continue that practice when he got married. He now looked at me with a perplexed expression, since what he did made perfect sense to him. Meanwhile, laughter erupted from the other guests.

I don’t know about you, but bugs and I definitely don’t get along. The thought of having them in my freezer gave me an internal conniption fit. I later found out that when Ron, who shared the home with George, first saw the duster, he thought George had killed a chicken and left the feathers on! Ick!

You better believe that there have been no feather dusters in my freezer in the hundreds of years we are married.

Be safe and be blessed.

Here’s a scripture to ponder, although whether it applies to feather dusters in the freezer is yet to be determined!

1 Peter 3:7 (NKJV)

A Word to Husbands

Husbands, likewise, dwell with them with understanding, giving honor to the wife, as to the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life, that your prayers may not be hindered.

 

Be safe and be blessed.

 

copyright 2016, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Christian Coping and Living, christian love, Christian Teaching, Christian Unity, dwell with understanding, Godly love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feathers in the freezer, a true story

  1. secretangel says:

    LOL… I agree with you, Pastor Sharon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

