Can you say you really walk humbly with your God?

Here’s a scripture to spiritually ponder:

Micah 6:8(NKJV)

8
He has shown you, O man, what is good;
And what does the Lord require of you
But to do justly,
To love mercy,
And to walk humbly with your God?

My attention was drawn to the last sentence: “and to walk humbly with your God”. How many of you are truly humble, teachable? If God shows you something you were sure you believed you understood but it’s apparent you didn’t, what would your response be? That’s what happened the other night when I was hoping for some personal spiritual direction from a respected colleague, and he quoted a verse that I felt convicted did not apply. I took it to God and my husband. My husband admitted he had been baffled by that scripture for many years, so he was unable to help. God led me to look at the scripture in context (reading the surrounding verses to see what Paul was saying and doing), and I discovered that the verse was not a mandate for all believers but applied to the particular fellowship Paul was writing to. I communicated this discovery to my colleague, and, almost immediately, I got the response: “You are so right sister.” Well it’s God who is always right, and it is God who worked through me, so I truly can’t claim credit for helping to set this scripture right in my colleague’s mind.

Brothers and sisters, whether you have followed Jesus for a long or short while, how would you have responded to a situation where you clearly see that you were sincerely wrong? Would you immediately change like the man of God did? Or would you have shut me out, telling me to make changes and then return to you when they have been made? Clearly, I have experienced both responses, and I know you can see what the spiritually correct one is. So, again, what would you do?

 

copyright 2016, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

 

 

 

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christian Coping and Living, christian focus, Christian Obedience, spiritual growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can you say you really walk humbly with your God?

  1. irisnasreen says:

    “And to walk humbly with your God?”

    The truth is that we are of no use in the Glory Kingdom of GOD without ‘humility’. Because, we cannot serve in His Kingdom righteously without a spirit of humility. Proverbs 29:23 “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”

    Happy 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

