God’s Greatest Miracle

You and I as believers have been blessed to receive miracles from God.  That’s on a daily basis.  For some of us, it’s a miracle that we are still alive, breathing and functioning.  I fall into that category.  At least twice, the medical community said I wouldn’t live, and yet here I am sharing what God wants me to share with you.  Wonderful as that is, that’s not God’s greatest miracle. Perhaps God granted you something physical that you wanted for a long time.  That’s not His greatest miracle, either.  Perhaps God provided a believing husband or wife with whom you share everything physical and spiritual.  That’s one of His greatest blessings, but it’s not His greatest miracle.

God’s greatest miracle is transforming minds to be receptive to Him when He calls a person.  Personally, I was extremely hostile towards God and worshiped money and status.  It shows how God intentionally got my attention when the money man program I religiously listened to was preempted by the spiritual leader whose fellowship I was blessed to be part of for about 20 years.  I yelled at the radio, demanding the return of the program (as if anyone at the station could hear me…I don’t claim my reaction to be rational.)  I did that daily until “somehow” I began to listen, sent away for literature and began my positive spiritual journey.  Perhaps your story is different.  Perhaps you were a preacher’s kid who grew up in a believing household and had difficulty determining the sin in your life so you could ask Jesus into your life as both Savior and Lord.  Perhaps you were living a life of addiction and somehow knew God could set you free from that.

God’s greatest miracle is not limited to preparing our minds to receive Him when He calls.  For the rest of our lives, God continues to transform our minds so we can truly be in His spiritual likeness.  He changes us from the inside out, and our character and personalities change.  Anger and hostility are replaced by love and kindness, the burning desire for worldly success is replaced by a burning desire to be and do what He has for us to be and do regardless of physical consequences, and we are filled with a peace that can conflict with negative, stressful circumstances, where before we were harsh and judgmental, we are now gentle and supportive.

It is God the Holy Spirit who performs these and other spiritual miracles.  Without Him being actively involved in our lives, we would try to do spiritual things on our own limited power, and we would fail.  He is the one who helps us to pray and connects us to the spiritual.  He is the one who guides us into spiritual truth and understanding, and He is the one who blesses us with the spiritual gifts we need to be and do what God has for us to be and do.  He knows the war we fight between the flesh and the spirit, and He grants us what we need to successfully resist temptation and overcome self.  Even when our humanity seems to win, He is there with us to help us see that God is the one who wins.  The Apostle Paul was God’s for about 20 years when he was led to write the following and share his realistic appraisal of his humanity and rejoice in transcending that in the Spirit:

Romans 7:23-25 (TLB)

23-25 but there is something else deep within me, in my lower nature, that is at war with my mind and wins the fight and makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. In my mind I want to be God’s willing servant, but instead I find myself still enslaved to sin.

So you see how it is: my new life tells me to do right, but the old nature that is still inside me loves to sin. Oh, what a terrible predicament I’m in! Who will free me from my slavery to this deadly lower nature? Thank God! It has been done by Jesus Christ our Lord. He has set me free.

Pray with me, please:  Father God, thanks for helping me understand Your greatest miracle and how it is ongoing in my spiritual life.  Help me to see how helpless I am without You.  Thanks for changing me from the inside out so that I can think, act and become more like You.  Thanks to God the Holy Spirit for all you do for me and our spiritual family.  Jesus, thanks for Your act of love that made all this possible.   In Your name Jesus, amen.

copyright 2015, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in Christian Meditation, God the Holy Spirit, miracles, spiritual transformation, walking with God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God’s Greatest Miracle

  1. secretangel says:

    Amen…. We serve a God of the Miraculous.Nothing is impossible with Him. God bless you, my sister!! You are a blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

