God, witnessing and me

God has tasked me with being a witness for Him both in person and online.  Some of the online stuff is relatively easy and pleasant, like being here and sharing what’s going on.  Other times, it’s truly challenging to be and do what God has for me to be and do because I am led to message boards where there are quite a few who are hostile to God and His way of life and love.

Many of the online articles have to do with the LGBT community.  Some address extra biblical beliefs such as the rapture.  You get the idea.  It seems like whatever I share, some will either get offended or even incensed.

The other day, I commented on an article about the rapture, showing that it’s an extra biblical idea that had its origin in the dreams of a young Scottish girl.  It was perpetuated by John Darby.  While scripture  does indeed say that Christ will return in power and glory and we who are His will meet Him in the air, it does not say that we who are God’s will escape the horror of the tribulation.  Even the children of Israel had to endure 9 of the 10 plagues.  Anyway, I obviously got some in their comfort zones, and they attacked me big time.  Some actually accused me of causing division and disunity among brethren when all I was doing was stating the truth found in God’s word.    My concern is about what could happen if those who hold the rapture as a kind of spiritual safety net realize it’s not happening.  How will that affect their relationship with God?  Will it cause them to miss out on the blessing of an eternity with God because they fall away?

Yesterday, I faced a challenge of a different kind.  The article was about the militancy of the LGBT crowd.  Some of us rightly called it bullying.  Right now, they have the heart of the media and government and are focused on “equality”, “rights” and things like that.  It really challenged me spiritually to not react to their accusations but to respond as God led.  Praise God that He gave me beautiful answers that those warring with words could not refute.  One guy actually accused me of committing blasphemy.  God’s answer was for the guy to be careful whom he accused of blasphemy.  The Pharisees and Sadducees wrongly accused Jesus of that just like he wrongly accused me.

Then, there was a thread accusing me and others of being haters because we support Christian business owners who won’t provide goods and services for same sex celebrations.  That’s exercising spiritual conscience, but these people were having none of that.  They kept bringing up how they feel when they experience what they think is discrimination.  It’s a sad thing when a person clings to his narrative and refuses to see another narrative that substantially differs.  God gave me the patience and the words to make the point of spiritual conscience plain.  It’s a witness.  It’s up to the person to accept or reject it.

Of course you know that neither God nor we who are His hate anyone.  God doesn’t condone LGBT anything, and neither do I.  It doesn’t mean I can’t find other areas to connect to the people and indeed show that I do appreciate and support them as long as there is no spiritual conscience conflict.

The time is coming when believers will not be able to conduct business because of man’s laws and penalties.  That’s a sobering thought, but it’s reality.  I trust God to work all things for good when that happens and provide for needs like food, clothing and shelter.  Jesus did tell us to take up our cross and follow Him.  He did not promise an easy life.  He did promise, though, that all who endure to the end will be saved.   I pray that for you.

Pray with me, please:  Father God, this world is becoming increasingly hostile towards those of us who are Yours.  You did command us to come out of her, and being aware of the differences between living Your way and the world’s way when there’s a conflict is surely part of that.  Thanks for equipping us with whatever we need to move forward being and doing what You have for us to be and do.  Thanks for helping us keep our eyes on You and not on the storm around us.  Help us to spiritually walk on water just like You did Peter, Jesus.  And thanks for rescuing us when we do begin to sink.  In Your name, Jesus, amen.

copyright 2015, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in christian witness, persecution, Spiritual Boldness, spiritual conscience, walking with God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God, witnessing and me

  1. Those who believe in LGBT (was that the initials you used? LOL) will never agree that Christians are right on this issue. To admit Christians are right would mean to admit they are wrong. I try (emphasis on try) to explain to people that I am not telling them they HAVE to believe the way I believe. I am not demanding they accept my views on the LGBT issues etc BUT they can’t demand the same either. I will not change my views because my faith doesn’t allow it. TI change my views on this issue would be saying the bible is in error and that I will not do. Nor will I change my views on sex outside of marriage. I will not change my views on abortion. I will not change my views on Jesus is the Son of God. It doesn’t mean I can’t love or respect the people who have opposing views. The best I can hope for is that my ‘living’ witness (not my words) impress them more and my witness to them changes their lives. There is a good chance, however, they will just avoid me or hate on me which is the chance all Christians take for standing up for righteousness. On other issues such as the rapture, the gifts of the spirit….it’s pretty much the same thing. I don’t tell people they have to accept my beliefs nor I theirs. I’m not going to change my mind chances are they are not either. But we can still love one another and find areas that we DO agree on. For me the debate of the gifts of the spirit and the rapture are not issues that are going risk mine (or the person with the opposing view’s) eternal life. If we both believe that Jesus is the Son of God and through HIm we find forgiveness and redemption
    and we are both living lives according to His plan and desire we are both going to meet in heaven. And because we will be better people in heaven whoever was right won’t laugh and say, “told ya so!” LOL We will just be happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad this post didn’t push your buttons. And, I agree. Holding to the rapture or not won’t interfere with being blessed with an eternity with God. Being angry and disappointed with God because what you hoped so much would happen didn’t could very well be that stumbling bolck between as believer and eternity.

      You and I have been sister-friends for many years now even though we sometimes see things differently. You know I don’t force you to see things “my” way, either. I treasure our friendship and look forward to seeing it continue for eternity.

      Like

Leave a Reply

