Do you have what it takes to follow Jesus and live His way?

Did you know you don’t need me or any other spiritual leader to tell you what to do? Sure, we can guide and encourage you, and that will help, but it won’t give you the answers you seek. Did you know that denominational doctrines won’t help you with this, either?

God wants me to share the foolproof way for any of us to follow Jesus and live His way. Okay, have you guessed what that is? It’s being connected to and led by God the Holy Spirit. He is the one who guides us into all spiritual truth and understanding. He is the one who equips us with what we need to follow Jesus and live His way. Part of that equipping is the gift of faith, and another part is transforming your mind into one that seeks spiritual knowledge and can grasp it.

Are you having trouble understanding what it means to follow Jesus? Know that God the Holy Spirit will help you at the time that’s best for you. Being a very human person, I know what it feels like to want to have all knowledge and understanding now, this minute. God has taught me through the years that this kind of learning is a lifelong process. Some things, I have indeed been blessed to grasp pretty immediately, while with other things, I still have a way to go. May God grant you everything you need including patience to wait for His leading, timing and revelation in this and all spiritual areas.

Are you having trouble overcoming some sin that you have tried, perhaps for years, to overcome so that you can be obedient to God? Did you know that you can’t completely overcome sin by yourself alone? God the Holy Spirit can and will help you at just the right time. I know. He helped me forgive my abuser. And then he engineered a situation where I was able to pray her home to God’s arms at the end of her physical life.

Let’s pray: Father God, please help me to wait for understanding and knowledge of what it means to follow Jesus and live His way. Help me to hear God the Holy Spirit’s voice and revel in His touch in my mind as He leads me on this lifelong journey of following Jesus and living His way. Help me to grasp that the journey is progressive. Help me also to grasp that what seems simple is not always easy. Help me to fully understand what scripture has Paul teaching us: “I can do all things through Christ Jesus”. Jesus, You promised to never leave or forsake me, and I thank You for that. As You and the Father are One, so are You and the Holy Spirit One. You also prayed to the Father that those of us who are Yours will be one with You as You are one with the Father and the Spirit. May Your prayer be fulfilled in my life and in the lives of all those who pray this prayer along with me. In Your name Jesus, I pray, amen.

May all who read this be blessed with the spiritual connection to God the Holy Spirit. May all be able to hear His voice and do and be what He leads us to do and be.

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in Christian Meditation, Christian Obedience, Christian Teaching, Following Jesus, God the Holy Spirit, prayer, Spirit Led and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

