Dysfunctional relationships distort our view of God, but God makes a way to clear our spiritual vision

Life is Tough, But God Always Makes a Way

So many of us have grown up in dysfunctional families.  Many of us have suffered abuse at the hands (literally) or through the mouth of our physical fathers and other family members.  How, then, can we see God as He is and not expect Him to be like those who have either given us wrong examples or abused us sexually, physically, emotionally or spiritually?

 

I am the product of a highly dysfunctional family where both parents were abusers.  So, you know I not only have something to teach but something to share because I have lived what I teach, write and speak about.  If you asked me how I came to see God as Someone who would not hurt me in any way, I will tell you that it’s nothing I did on my own except exercise my God-given ability to choose.  This is miracle territory.  All I know is…

View original post 165 more words

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Christian Coping and Living. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dysfunctional relationships distort our view of God, but God makes a way to clear our spiritual vision

  1. Sister Betty says:

    I myself was raised in a dysfunctional environment. It was not at all pleasant. And I wasn’t at all doing my childhood, teens, and part of my adult life; as joyful as I am this day. It is God who has been healing me in the years. I speak the truth, and share my own testimony sometimes through my blogs, or sometimes a with an individual whom I may come in contact with. Allowing God to get the Glory out of my life. I would not be who I am today without Christ Jesus. I’m not a shame to share.

    Like

  2. Sue C. says:

    Growing up in a dysfunctional and abusive family I couldn’t even call God, “Father.” It took His patient love to bring me to where I am today. You might be interested in my new blog, Cyber Support Group – hope healing and deliverance for sexual abuse survivors. http://www.cybersupportgroup.org May the Lord bless your ministry.

    Like

    • Thanks for your visit and comment. Yes, recovery takes time, and I praise God that He transformed you so that you could move forward in your relationship with Him.

      Thanks for your blessings on our ministry. We pray God touches and changes lives through yours as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

