Can you be God’s friend?

Here’s an interesting Bible question:   How many things did Abraham and Jesus’s disciples have in common? You could say that Abraham knew God and the disciples knew Jesus, who is God,  but there’s more.  In the second chapter of his letter, James writes about the relationship of faith and works. Faith is believing what God has said or knowing that what He said is true. Works refer to action or obedience to what God wants  done.  The verses about Abraham, James 2:21-23,  add one more thing. Verse 23 tells us that Abraham was God’s friend.

James 2:21-23

New King James Version (NKJV)

21 Was not Abraham our father justified by works when he offered Isaac his son on the altar? 22 Do you see that faith was working together with his works, and by works faith was made perfect? 23 And the Scripture was fulfilled which says, “Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.” And he was called the friend of God.

That night before Jesus was betrayed, He talked to His disciples about  many things. Among them were faith and works in John 14:11-14 and obedience in verse 15.

John 14:11-15

New King James Version (NKJV)

11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.

12 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. 13 And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.

15 “If you love Me, keep My commandments.

In John 15:9-15,  Jesus repeats the need for  obedience and adds the importance of love and one more thing: the disciples who were His servants would now also be His friends.

John 15:9-15

New King James Version (NKJV)

“As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love. 10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.

11 “These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full. 12 This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. 14 You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. 15 No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

The answer to the question of “Can you be God’s friend?” is “Yes”.   That friendship is conditional on you accepting God’s conditions. Friendship with God involves faith, works, obedience and love. Humanly, we think of friendship being between equals. That’s not how God looks at it. He will always be God and we will never be equal to Him(not even close!), but He does want to be our friend on His terms. Will you accept His blessing of friendship? Pastor Sharon and I hope and pray that you will.

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christian Choices, Christian Coping and Living, Christian Meditation, Christian Obedience, Christian Spiritual Counsel, Christian Teaching, faith, Following Jesus, friendship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can you be God’s friend?

  1. secretangel says:

    Amen. Yes… Intimacy with God is the key.

    Like

  2. RJ Dawson says:

    Thanks for this. Very good. And I see we are tracking. I wrote my post of March 12 before reading this post. God is good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

