God, His Unpredictable Calling and Me

God is predictable in some ways, and He is unpredictable in others.  That sort of makes sense, since He created us, and the same can be said of us all as well.  We don’t always do the same thing in the same ways perhaps because doing it differently can produce a better result.  That’s the way it is with God, too.

For instance, God the Father decides when it’s time to get our attention. I would venture to say that everyone reading this post has a different story to share about how and when it happened in their lives.  That’s a good thing because we are all different, and there are different ways to get our attention.  I remember that God tried to get my attention through the years in different ways until one worked.  When I was 10 and a Conservative Jew, He put it into my mind to ask about why there was a plural noun for God and a singular verb in Genesis in the Hebrew text. (I was very smart then).  My well-respected teacher gave an answer I have since found is all too common but wrong:  that God is so great and powerful that He needs a plural noun to show that.  My 10 year old self decided to be satisfied with that and went on her way.  I don’t remember whether it was that year or the next, but I was in the dreaded dentist’s waiting room reading a denominational magazine (Pastor G and I later belonged to that fellowship for more than 20 years!) and all of a sudden my little voracious reader me closed the magazine like it was on fire and put it down. 

It wasn’t until I was about 30 that God did something that worked and “took”.  I was a stubborn, wary woman who didn’t trust anyone except the woman I thought was my best friend.  Her name was Donna.  One day, of all things, she gave me a Stephen King novel called The Stand that I read hungrily through at least four times not really understanding why.  Things progressed from there and the founder of that fellowship I talked about above came on the radio and I was mad because I wanted to hear the guy talk about money who was usually in that time slot.  After yelling at the radio using language that would cause me to blush today (yeah, you would have laughed) for a couple of days, I finally listened and discovered I was hungry for what he had to say.  The rest as “they” (whoever they are) say, is history.

You get my point.  God has the same goal for each of us but uses ways that are effective for each to accomplish His purpose.   In that way, He is wonderfully unpredictable.

I pray you can embrace our unpredictable God for the way He has worked in your life and others’ lives.  That’s today’s encouraging word.

 

©2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

 

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Christian Meditation, Christian Teaching, Christian Testimony, Following Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God, His Unpredictable Calling and Me

  1. RJ Dawson says:

    The Lord never gives up and He certainly has His ways that are beyond figuring out. Thanks for the post and the reminder of His love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

