Lonely? Some Spiritual Coping Tools to Help You Break Free

Sometimes the pain of loneliness hurts so much that you feel like you can’t pray. Anytime you feel that way, you can think or call out, “Father, help!”, “Jesus, help”, or “Holy Spirit, help!” And they will!

The great thing about being God’s is that we believers are never truly alone. Jesus promised to never leave or forsake us. He said He and the Father are in agreement, so that’s true regarding the Father, too. Same for God the Holy Spirit. And all those angels that are around but we can’t see.

Remember the account in scripture when the prophet was confronted with human battle and danger and God opened the eyes of those who were concerned about the outcome to spiritually perceive that he was surrounded by a multitude of angels equipped for battle? God and the kingdom of light are there for us in ways we can’t even begin to know.

Let’s Pray

Father God, loneliness hurts me so much. When I reach out to others who say they care about me, I don’t receive the comfort and encouragement that I need to break free from these terrible feelings. Please help me to continue to reach out to You, Jesus and God the Holy Spirit with my whole heart, and please help me to feel Your love and presence in my life during this time of need. When I don’t know what to share with You, may God the Holy Spirit reach deep inside me and make my thoughts and emotional pain plain. Thanks so much for not only hearing my prayer, as I know You do, but answering it as only You can. Thanks for replacing my bad feelings with feeling connected to You and all that You are. Thanks for filling me with Your love, peace and all that I need to break free from this terrible loneliness so I can move on to be and do what You have for me to be and do. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Pray, Think and Journal About

There are no right or wrong answers. These questions are specially crafted to help you make needed changes and break free from loneliness. It would be a fun thing to revisit the questions months from now and compare your answers to see where you are then as opposed to where you are now.

1. Do you feel stuck in or paralyzed by your loneliness? Can you ask God for help in breaking free?

2. Do you have the kind of relationship with God where you feel free to pray or talk to Him about anything at any time? If not, can you ask Him to help you develop that?

3. How much do you desire God’s active presence in your life? Do you believe a relationship with Him can remove your loneliness?

4. What does it mean to be God’s friend? Do you care about Him as much as He cares for you?

I pray that these exercises indeed help you break free from your loneliness so you can move on with peace and joy to be and do what God has for you to be and do. That’s today’s encouraging word.

copyright 2013, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Christian Coping and Living, Christian Meditation, Christian Spiritual Counsel, emotional pain, God the Holy Spirit, Spiritual Coping Tools, suffering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

