Waiting on the Lord is a Hard Thing!

I don’t know about you, but I am not good at waiting. And yet, God says to wait for Him, His will and His timing in all things. Currently, Pastor G and I are in yet another period of waiting, and our attitudes range from accepting openness to God’s guidance and plan to downright impatience.

We know the path God has for us and our ministry, and we do indeed welcome those opportunties to be a blessing to those He sends across our path. We just think it’s a hoot (yes, our age is showing) that God would give us a ministry dedicated to obeying and accepting His will when it’s so hard for us to wait. It’s ironic, and we can see God cracking a grin at us. While we still wait. Oh, well….

God has blessed us to share many wonderful teachings about waiting with those He sends across our path like Serenity Prayer Living. Guess we’ll follow our own counsel while being and doing what He has for us to do and be: wait.

Psalm 27:14

New King James Version (NKJV)

14 Wait on the Lord;
Be of good courage,
And He shall strengthen your heart;
Wait, I say, on the Lord!

If you are having a hard time accepting God’s will, you can see you are not alone. We are here for you while you wait on the Lord and His timing.

copyright 2013, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christian Coping and Living, Christian Meditation, Christian Testimony and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waiting on the Lord is a Hard Thing!

  1. RJ Dawson says:

    Thanks for the post and for being so honest and transparent.

    Yes, it is often true that the waiting is the hardest part. And I personally pretty much have a PhD in that field, but real waiting isn’t passive.

    There’s stuff going on behind the scenes
    While we try so hard to follow our dreams
    And the Lord is pleased that we’re willing to wait
    While He works so hard on making our paths straight,
    And putting us in a position to be used in greater ways.

    Look at it this way: A reserve player on a sports team can either sit around and gripe and get out of shape while waiting his turn to get on the field, and then completely blow it when he gets his chance, or he can continue to work and train and get better and show enthusiasm and help other players and do whatever is required and not be a drain on the team but lift it up and make it easy for the coaches and be ready and ever more ready and willing to wait as long as it takes and then take the sport by storm when he gets his long awaited opportunity to do his part as an active player helping his team to excel by excelling beforehand behind the scenes.

    Like

    • Hi RJ. Thanks for your encouraging words. I think if you have that Phd in waiting, I must have the post-doctorate degree! LOL!

      Agreed. We are prepared to be and do what God has us be and do whenever that happens. When I least expect it, God uses me to make a spiritual impact on a seeker’s or believer’s spiritual journey.

      I think transparancy is real and authentic. The Christian life is not always easy, and waiting is sometimes a huge part of it. I’ll never forget when I was asked in the ladies room by someone awaiting baptism if life got any easier. My reply was truthful, so I told her no but that I wouldn’t trade it for anything. And I still won’t!

      I sometimes wonder what the prophets felt like between messages given that were largely ignored. And yet they remained faithful and waited for God. Pastor G and I keep asking can we do any less?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Why wait? | ourgraceforthemoment

  3. Thank you so much for this post. I have recently struggled with learning to trust God completely and leave things in his hands and not my own. To fully know that things work in his time and not own own. God had given me my own task at writing a christian blog so that i can be a light and show others that with God alone all things are possible but first you have to put all faith in trust in him first and not do things when we want them to happen. Feel free to check out my blog spirit seeker. God bless. This is a very wonderful blog and helps me alot in what God needs me to understand.

    Like

    • I am so glad the post ministered to you. Thanks for your kind words about the blog. Thanks also for following the blog, and please be sure to let Pastor G and me know if you have topics you’d like us to address or if you have spiritual concerns that we can help with as the Lord leads.

      Blessings,
      Pastor Sharon

      Like

Leave a Reply

