Are you really so sure spiritual things will happen the way you think they will? What if they don’t?

Humanly, we all like to think we have things figured out. That’s why some may feel spiritually secure about things like prophecy and the rapture, but how would you respond if they don’t happen the way you have been taught they will? Even if you have studied the scriptures, do you realize you and others can be sincerely wrong about what they teach? If you found out you were wrong, would that change your relationship with God and affect your eternity?

God gave Pastor G and me a promise years ago, and we understood it. What we didn’t understand was that God could change His mind depending upon circumstances. For quite a while, I was very angry at Him and felt betrayed. As you can see, God helped me move beyond that, but it took some time, years, for Him to bring me to the place where I am now spiritually. When the promise didn’t happen, we were stunned and shocked. Pastor G immediately told God that he was His no matter what happened. I kept being angry for a while but came to the same conclusion. After all, I surrendered all that I am to God when I became His, and that means He is in control of my life, not me.

There are end time events coming up soon that we all need to be prepared to face. Many expect to be raptured prior to all the suffering illustrated in Revelation called the tribulation. What if the rapture doesn’t happen? What if you find that you have to endure the tribulation even though you have been obedient and faithful to God? Will you have the spiritual strength to endure to the end so that you will, as Christ promises, be saved? Will you indeed look beyond your physical horror to the blessing of a near future eternity with God?

This is a challenge to all who read these words. I know they are sobering, but they are real. Pastor G and I pray that all of us will be able to endure to the end so that we will be blessed with an eternity with God. May God be with you all as you prayerfully consider the challenges on this page.

copyright 2013, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in Christian Coping and Living, Christian Meditation, Christian Prophecy, Christian Teaching, christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Are you really so sure spiritual things will happen the way you think they will? What if they don’t?

  1. xthumbelina says:

    wow 😐 This made me think way too much. Sharon you always manage to make me question everything haha! I have no idea what I’d do if I learnt that the rapture is to never happen. I’d go insane for quite some time.

    Like

    • That’s the point, Jasmine. A related question is who or what are you converted to: doctrine or God?

      And regardless of what happens in life, God is always here for you and will grant you what you need to cope with challenges. Regarding sanity, losing it is not a spiritual possibility because when you became God’s, you were blessed with the spirit of a sound mind.

      Like

  2. I have learned that you can never put God in a box and that just when you think that you have something figured out, God will come with another “level of truth” that had not been revealed yet. I know that Revelation speaks about the rapture. However, Christ came here to earth to walk in human form and He overcame the sins of the world. Are we better than He that we do not have to suffer as well… I don’t think so.. I believe that He is teaching us to overcome our situations, to walk in faith and in the Spirit and that there will come a time, that we as the Manisfest Sons of God will be able to walk in the Miraculous as Christ did…. How can others see and turn to God if He removes all of us.. I expect the unexpected and walk in faith that He will supply all my needs, no matter what is going on around me…. Just my 2 cents.. Blessings to you!!!

    Like

  3. Thanks Pastor Sharon. I really like your blog and the stimulating questions. God is just so Big and Awesome and Miraculous and can’t be held to a set expectation. I just feel that more “truths” will be unveiled when He is ready… He has set me free and I try to reach out to other abuse victims to let them see THE LIGHT that lead me out of darkness… May God bless you exceedingly and abundantly!!!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your wonderful comment! I know you join Pastor G and me in wanting to be God’s instrument of encouragement in our walk with Him towards eternity and beyond. May your spiritual love and testimony continue to make a difference in people’s lives.

      Blessings,
      Pastor Sharon

      Like

  4. Thank you so much also… God has told me to write a book that will be released in August. He even gave me the name, The Walking Wounded.. He has me on this path to reach out to others. Please check out my blog and link to about.me. He even gave me an ODE to the victims that I wrote last night and posted early this am. He had to reveal some abuses to me because I really did not realize that I was being abused most of the time…even workplace abuse.. I feel in my spirit that He is mobilizing an army to help these victims… We are HIS HANDS AND HIS FEET—WE ARE HIS ARMY. If anyone that you know has been abused, give them my blog, The Abuse’ Expose’ with Secret Angel. My email is secretangel.ps911@gmail.com. I write everyday what God leads me to write through prayer. He is MY GOD, and I WILL TRUST HIM……PSALM 91 is my prayer and the prayer for every victim.. Blessings again..

    Like

    • I pray your upcoming book ministers to many. I well understand what you mean about God telling you to write a book and giving you the title and leading in providing the content. That’s what He did with Pastor G and me when we literally co-authored with Him our emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians called Encouraging Words. It has a chapter on abuse and has tools to help the hurting break free from abuse. We have a very limited number left from the second printing that we can offer at great discount, so please let people know about this widely praised workbook that can be a permanent addition to their spiritual libraries.

      Blessings,
      Pastor Sharon

      Like

      • Great! I sure will. Is it on Amazon or a Christian Book Store? I totally agree with what you said about God co-authoring that book with you. He did the same for me and even told me, “MY TONGUE is the pen of a ready writer.” He is still giving me the words for this blog.. See the ODE that He gave me during the night.. Then He just gave me the real song today which I dedicated to HIM….Sorry for taking up your time, but today is one of those days that my spirit is singing and dancing and I just want to shout HOW GREAT HE IS….. Blessings again….

        Like

      • It is available through us, so people can contact me directly. I did see Amazon has it, but it’s far more expensive than the closeout price we offer.
        Hugs, (blessings are always implied)
        Pastor Sharon

        Like

      • I looked on your site and did not see any contact info or order info. Is there a website or more contact info so I can

        Like

      • You can email me at christiancounselorpastor@yahoo.com and ask away.

        Look forward to your email.

        Hugs, blessings and all good Godly things,
        Pastor Sharon

        Like

      • oops!! continued…..
        so I can get your book… I really don’t know everything that God has planned but keep following the bread crumbs that He gives me and doing what He tells me to do. Just let me know more about the book….Thanks

        Like

      • I thought I was the only typo-challenged one! LOL! Again, my email addy is christiancounselorpastor@yahoo.com

        I’ll be glad to supply the address you can send your payment and mailing address to when I get your email. Please note the price quoted will be for the US and Canada. Let me know if you are outside those countries, and I will get an international rate for you.

        Pastor S

        Like

      • Thanks… USA is fine. I will email you today..
        Thanks again…

        Like

Leave a Reply

