How to Live and Love Like a Christian

There is a simplicity that is Christ. Jesus gave examples of what it means to follow Him and how to do so. Here are some scriptures to meditate about and ask God to help you apply in your walk with Him.

Matthew 22:37-40
New King James Version (NKJV)

37 Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”

The above is God’s spiritual law of love towards Him, others and self. Let’s take the verses one at a time. What does it mean to love God? It means to surrender all that you are to Him. It means to receive His love and return it to Him. It means He is in your thoughts frequently. It means you want to please Him. It means you want to make Him feel special just like you want the people you love to feel special. Above all, ours is a spiritual relationship that is begun now that, with God’s will, will last for eternity.

What does it mean to love others spiritually? It means to care when they hurt and be happy with them when they are happy. It means to encourage when life isn’t going well, and it means to be there to do for them what they have difficulty doing for themselves if they are ill, disabled or elderly. God is pleased with that kind of love, and scripture shows the door to an eternity with God will be opened to those who sincerely love this way.

Matthew 25:34-40
New King James Version (NKJV)

34 Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: 35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; 36 I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? 39 Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ 40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’

Finally, what does it mean to love yourself? That’s one that puzzled me because I didn’t have a sense of self when I began my Christian walk. My life had been one fraught with verbal, sexual and physical abuse, and so I looked for ways to please my abuser so that I wouldn’t get hurt in any way. I wanted peace and freedom from personal violation. It wasn’t until about 20 years ago that I began to learn that God wants me to value who I am in Him. He wanted me to know that my needs matter and that my personal boundaries count and need to be respected. He wanted me to do special things for myself like I have always done for others.

I pray you haven’t been abused but that you learn to appreciate God in you and the gifts, talents and abilities He has blessed you with. He wants you to take time for yourself just to be, to refresh. In other words, He wants you to have a spiritually and emotionally balanced life. Do things you enjoy while thanking Him for being able to enjoy these things.

If you are single, love yourself enough to wait for marriage to give yourself sexually to your husband or wife. If you are married, love yourself enough to give yourself to your spouse when it’s right for both of you. Sometimes one partner is willing while the other isn’t. Respect your needs and desires appropriately.

I’m sure you will come up with ways to love God, others and self that haven’t been addressed here. That’s great! And it’s what Christian meditation is all about. May God the Holy Spirit guide you how to live and love like a Christian every day of your life.

copyright 2013, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christian Coping and Living, Christian Meditation, christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

