Christians, How Different Are You?

Most don’t realize it, but the following scripture was written about God’s people. I am sad to share that it’s difficult for me to walk down the street and be able to tell who is and is not a follower of Christ. That’s different from as few as twenty years ago, when I could discern who is God’s. That shows me and distresses me that things are getting progressively worse.

2 Timothy 3:1-5a

But know this, that in the last days, perilous times will come: For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers. disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good, traitors, headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having a form of godliness but denying its power.

If you see yourself in the above scriptures, I want to encourage you that you don’t have to stay that way. Yes, it means making changes, but you are not alone when you make them. God the Holy Spirit is here to help and guide you. Be aware that change takes time, and you need to be patient and let God work in you to transform you into what He wants you to be. The scriptures below give you an idea of what that’s like:

Galatians 5:22-23

But the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self control. Against such there is no law.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8a

Love suffers long and is kind, love does not envy, love does not parade itself, is not puffed up, does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil, does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.

Let’s pray: Father God, help me to make the changes I need to make so that I can become love as You are. Help me to walk in the spirit and not the flesh. Help me to rely on God the Holy Spirit to lead me and guide me in Your way of life. Thanks for changing me, for I realize that I cannot do these things myself. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Pastor G and I do pray that the church indeed sees itself in 2 Timothy 3 and makes the changes it needs to make so that we can not only let those lights of ours shine as we become different, we can make a real difference for Him as He leads.

©2013 Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in Christian Coping and Living, christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christians, How Different Are You?

  1. Great post! Definitely some good things to reflect upon!

    Like

  2. This was an extremely convicting post. I am praying for your ministry and look forward to reading more…

    Like

  3. nir2thee says:

    Lovely post…and I so needed that prayer earlier

    Like

Leave a Reply

